Canal Bistro

I had seen Canal Bistro many times but never ventured in by happenstance.  I’m not a huge fan of Mediterranean food in general, so it never won over Brugge as a place I would go while out and hungry in Broadripple.  But I heard rave reviews from Foodie Friend Rachel about their garlic fries, so when I saw a Groupon I snatched it up. 

IMG_1639 IMG_1642

The restaurant is, as expected, right on the canal as it runs through Broadripple (yellow building).  I’m  sure it looks just gorgeous at night when it’s all lit but I didn’t feel like going back at night just for a photo.  My sister was in town a while back and she loves Greek food, so we took a little visit.

bar

These interior photos are from the restaurant’s website.

images

From restaurant website.

The décor is honestly pretty tacky for my taste.  It sort of looks like they just raided the Hobby Lobby for anything heavy and ornately decorated.  But it is clean and comfortable, has ample daylight and there is lots of outdoor seating.

We split an order of those famed garlic feta fries, then I ordered the schwarma platter and my sister ordered the Greek salad.

IMG_3457

Those garlic feta fries were the star of the show and sort of made me wish I had just ordered 5 plates of them instead of an entree.  Giant chunks of feta, fried potato.  It tastes exactly how it sounds and it sounds like heaven.  I would gladly stop back in just for a drink and a plate of these.

IMG_3464

Jessica’s salad was a standard greek salad with kalamata olives, feta, tomatoes, and red onion and a good Greek/basalmic vinaigrette.  Nothing remarkable but for $9 it was HUGE and exactly what we expected quality-wise.

IMG_3463

My gyros platter came with pitas, vegetables, schwarma, rice, and tzatziki.  The rice was not as flavorful as I’ve had elsewhere (namely Bosphorus) but the whole platter was, like the greek salad, large for the price ($14) and very solid in taste.  I should also note that the Greek “side” salad I got with the gyros platter could easily have fed a person on it’s own.  I would guess it was about 5 or 6 cups of salad.  That left me more gyro platter to take home for a midnight snack, which is always nice!

We split the “Mile High Tuxedo Truffle Chocolate Mousse Cake” for dessert, which was delicious, as evidenced by my lack of photo.

In summary, the food at the Canal Bistro is absolutely fine but nothing to write home about.  If I want really delicious Mediterranean food, I would head down to Bosphorous.  But for a great patio dinner on a warm summer night in Broadripple, or ANYTIME for those fries, I would absolutely head back to the Canal Bistro.

http://Canal Bistro Mediterranean Grille on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Canal Bistro

  1. I am sorry that you didn’t have an enjoyable time. We take great pride in the food we serve and are very observant of what our customer’s post online so that we can change any mistakes that we have made to better the restaurant. I wanted to first let you know that our décor is imported from Egypt, Turkey and Greece. If you have ever been to the Mediterranean you would see similar décor in restaurants and cafés. Everything from the floors to the drapery have been selected with care and shipped to America from the actual Mediterranean so that we can really allow our customers to take a step out of the ordinary and into a place many of them have only dreamed of. I hope you read “Our Story” on the back of the menu. It gives our customer’s a better idea of who we are as people and the precise amount of attention we have given our recipes. A lot of people confuse our food with Greek food but the Mediterranean encompasses a whole area of different countries and cultures. Most of our food is Lebanese inspired because my wife and her family are from Lebanon. She has taken great pride in formulating her recipes for Indianapolis to feast on. I noticed that you thought there was shawarma in your Gyro Platter. What you have pictured is our Gyro Platter. Our shawarma and gyro are not the same thing. Shawarma and gyro are prepared the same way, as shawarma is a meat preparation, our gyro is a lamb and beef mix, and we serve our shawarma as chicken or beef. I hope I have given some clarity into some of the remarks you made in your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Leave a Reply

