Tortas Guicho Dominguez y El Cubanito: Delicious Tortas in Fountain Square

Tortas Guicho Dominguez y El Cubanito is one of the places I have been putting off reviewing because it holds a special place in my belly and needs to be done right.  The tortas themselves are the best I’ve had in town, and the tacos are addictively good traditional Mexican tacos.  But this is the place is also special because it’s where my equally pale and peckish dining companion won my heart by introducing me to not only a restaurant I’d never heard of, but to tortas as a food!  I might even think I was being swayed by sentimentality if it weren’t always full of other people hungry for these awesome sandwiches.

Right in the main part of the trendy Fountain Square district, Tortas Guicho is a fun building abutting South of Chicago and Bluebeard.  I would venture to say this makes it the single most delicious block in the state.  The building is tiny and fun and full of light and bachata tunes, a winning combination in my book.  Photo Jun 29, 1 41 17 PM Photo Jun 29, 1 41 53 PM

The menu features a few tacos, which many people visit for exclusively, but the offerings are by and large tortas.  Each torta is named after a Latin celebrity or country of the world and is served with mayonnaise, tomato, avocado, and these delicious cucumber slices sprinkled with lemon, salt, and I believe paprika. Of course, they also bring you enough gardiniera to keep you ordering drinks also.  

Photo Jun 29, 1 46 40 PM

My favorite torta is the Salma Hayek: chicken breast, ham & mozzarella, but I will be the first to admit that I have never been able to say no to Salma and order anything else.  

Photo Jun 29, 1 59 31 PM

On our most recent trip, Phil broke out of his steak and chorizo taco rut and ordered the special:  mole verde platter served with rice, beans, and corn tortillas.  We were both pretty underwhelmed with the dish at first, thinking it was intended to be eaten as an entree.  The server came out with the tortillas a few minutes later and, once wrapped in masa and dressed with spicy sauce, the ingredients came into their own.  I think he will go back to tacos on our subsequent visits, but I’m glad one of us finally tried something new.  Photo Jun 29, 1 58 00 PM

The prices here are very reasonable, the parking very easy, and the food wonderful and filling. The decision in your mind should not be whether or not to try Tortas Guicho, but what to pick first.

Photo Jun 29, 9 39 38 PM

http://Tortas Guicho Dominguez y el Cubanito on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Tortas Guicho Dominguez y El Cubanito: Delicious Tortas in Fountain Square

Leave a Reply

