Burger Bonanza

I’m visiting BRU Burger on Mass Ave for a friend’s birthday party tonight, so of course my dreams last night were consumed with hot, juicy, pink-on-the-inside-like-they-ought-to-be hamburgers. I’ve been to BRU and was very happy with my lunch, but now I’m fantasizing about ALL the tasty burgers on the menu in Indianapolis. Here are a few of my favorites:

#1: Working Man’s Friend, Haughville.
Depending on where you grew up, this place may seem homey or like a total dive. I’m in the former camp but can’t deny the latter, or the fact that these burgers are The. Best. in. Town. They have an absurdly cheap special of burgers and fries and I just really like it. No craft beer, no tuna burger, no sweet potato fries, no guarantee of bodily safety in Haughville. CASH ONLY

Don't be scared, be hungry!  (Image jacked from Urbanspoon.com, as I've never had the patience to wait OUTSIDE this place)

Don’t be scared, be hungry! (Image jacked from Urbanspoon.com, as I’ve never had the patience to wait OUTSIDE this place)

In no particular order, the rest:

Bub’s Burgers, Carmel: This place has attracted Food Network’s attention for their Big Ugly Challenge wherein a person eats like 78 pounds of burger and wins nothing (well, you get a tiny photo on the wall.) For the rest of us, they offer realllllly tasty beef and elk burgers as well as jumbo hot dogs that I willl admit to having ordered slathered in chili and cheese. They also offer waffle fries which come smeared in chili, cheese, sour cream, and bacon. If that weren’t enough, they also have BARQ’s RED CREAM SODA ON DRAFT. Worth the drive.

Twenty Tap, Butler-Tarkington: Nice variety of burgers, including an Italian burger with prosciutto, arugula, and other italiany things. They offer, predictably, a selection of 20 Indiana beers, always rotating, and FRIED CHEESE CURDS. So there’s that. *They have expanded their menu to include non-burger sandwiches and more vegetarian-friendly options. While I obviously disapprove, I suppose it is nice for those of you with, like, consciences or whatever. Or who just ate a burger yesterday 🙂

Fried cheese curds with chipotle and garlic aoilis, Upland Wheat and new Holland Pumpkin Ale.  Take that, Wisconsin!

Fried cheese curds with chipotle and garlic aoilis, Upland Wheat and new Holland Pumpkin Ale. Take that, Wisconsin!

Boogie Burger, Broadripple:  Good burgers and milkshakes annnnnnd GARLIC FRIES!

Ok, I’m realizing that I choose my burger destination based on what things they fry and serve on the side. This is not because the burgers are not important, but rather because they’re all solid pieces of meat and, well, I love fried things. No shame.

Where is your go-to burger??

3 thoughts on “Burger Bonanza

  1. Bru wins every time for me. I think. They also have amaaaaaaazing milkshakes. All of their sauces are made on site.

    But sometimes, sometimes, you have to take the punch to your arteries and eat some Mr. Dan’s.

Leave a Reply

